One of the latest editions to Team NB MCR is Jip Vastenburg from Holland. Jip has had a very successful junior and senior career so far on the Track, Road and Cross Country and we are so happy and excited to have her join our team for the next step in her career. We are now in St Moritz altitude training and have had the opportunity to see Jip’s strengths both as an athlete and as a person, with her ever positive attitude and great work ethic.
Below is a short interview with our newest (and tallest) member for you all to get to know a bit about her too…
Age: 25 years
Home Town: Loosdrecht
Nationality: Netherlands
Club: AV 34’ Apeldoorn
Events: 5000m (15:15), 10 000m (31:35), 1/2 marathon (71:11)
What shoe do you currently wear for… 
– Mileage: NB 880
– Tempo: NB 890v7
– Spike:  LD5000
When did you start running?
I started with athletics when I was 6 years old. In Holland its very normal to do all the events when you are younger. You train more like a heptathlete! I figured out quite soon that running was what I was best at, so from the age of 14 I focused on running only.
What inspired you/influenced you to start?
It was my brother actually. I went to watch him at the track and I said to my mum right away that I wanted to try it too.
Favourite place to run? 
I have a few favourite places to run! As an athlete I get to see to the most beautiful places, especially when we are at altitude in Sankt Moritz or Flagstaff. Holland, where I’m from also have some really good spots to run in the forests.
2C516EA4-AB96-4402-AD25-474573FBE536
First race? 
My first race was in my hometown in Loosdrecht were I grew up. I was only 5 years old!
What do you love most about running? 
I love to do long runs.
If you weren’t a runner what would you do?
I study psychology but i don’t know if that would be my first choice if I wasn’t a professional runner. I like to study as a distraction from running, I enjoy being busy with something else.
Childhood hero?
Paula Radcliffe
Favourite race venue?
My favourite race venue is the track in Rieti. Maybe because I won my first European title there as a Junior over 5,000m.
Jip+Vastenburg+European+Athletics+Junior+Championships+bI6D0wQ64uSl
Favourite weather to train in?
I like it when it’s raining a little bit. I really enjoy the smell of the woods and the grass when it’s fresh outside.
Favourite film?
Hunger games
Favourite food?
Pizza or pancakes
Career highlight? 
I have a few career highlights so far! First is my European title as a junior in the 5000m meter. To stand on the podium and hear the national anthem for the first time was a moment I will never forget in my entire life. The second one is my fourth place in my first senior championship in the 10,000 meter. And my latest highlight is definitely my 5th place at Euro cross (2018) in front of the home crowd in Tilburg.
181209-u20-129_7c8_1
Interests away from running?
I love to read a good book.
Did you play any other sports growing up?
I started with gymnastics when I was very little but my skills were far from great and  my flexibility is not one of my strengths either. I also competed in sailing which i liked very much.
Favourite Quote/words of wisdom?
A happy runner is a fast runner.
Goals for 2019?
My goals for 2019 are to improve myself as an athlete and make sure I enjoy every step I take.